March 19-22, 2023

About CENS

Council for Emerging and New Statisticians (CENS) was formed in 2012 by ENAR’s Regional Advisory Board (RAB) in 2012 to help ENAR better address the needs of all students and recent graduates. CENS is composed of 10 graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, or recent graduates, who are ENAR members from academia, government, or private industry. With the help of the RAB Liaison, CENS members collaborate to:

CENS Mission

CENS seeks to advocate for the needs and concerns of students and recent graduates in collaboration with ENAR’s Regional Advisory Board. Through annual events at the ENAR Spring Meeting, CENS strives to promote the benefits of participating in the ENAR community, support the advancement of students and recent graduates, and facilitate stronger connections within the statistical community.


We will be recruiting new members March-April 2023! Each member is appointed to a 2-year term. Within CENS, three or four people are chosen to participate in the steering committee, which reports to the RAB chair. Members of the steering committee will serve an additional year on CENS. CENS members will meet in person yearly at the ENAR Spring Meeting and participate in conference calls throughout the year to plan events and address issues as they arise. If you are interested in joining CENS, please email

Upcoming Events

CENS Committee

RAB Liaison: Lucy D’Agostino McGowan, Wake Forest University

CENS Steering Committee 2022-2023:
Anna Eames Seffernick, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (co-chair)
Sarah Samorodnitsky, University of Minnesota (co-chair)
Daniel Mork, Harvard University
Arinjita Bhattacharyya, Merck

CENS Members 2022-2023:
Melissa Jay Smith, University of Alabama Birmingham
Siddhesh Kulkarni, University of Louisville
Arielle Marks-Anglin, Mathematica
Tianyi Sun, Vanderbilt University
Ziqiao Wang, Eli Lilly
Summer Zhang, University of Chicago

Contact Info

If anyone has any questions or comments for CENS, please contact us at Don’t forget to "Like" us on Facebook and join our LinkedIn group.