Officers & Committees

Executive Committee 2022

PresidentSimone Gray
President-ElectLeslie McClure
Past PresidentBrent Coull
Secretary (2020-2022)Brisa Sánchez
Treasurer (2022-2023)Qi Long


ENAR Regional Committee (RECOM)

President (Chair)Simone Gray
Nine ordinary members (elected to 3-year terms):Tanya Garcia (RAB Chair)


Regional Members of the International Biometric Society Executive Board

Karen Bandeen-Roche, Joel Greenhouse, Amy Herring, José Pinheiro and Sarah Ratcliffe


Regional Members of the Council of the International Biometric Society

Paul Albert, Nandita Mitra, Sean Simpson and Brisa Sánchez


Appointed Members of Regional Advisory Board (3-year terms)

ChairTanya Garcia



2023 Spring Meeting — Nashville, TN
Program Chair: Elizabeth Handorf
Program Co-Chair: Sameera Wijayawardana
Local Arrangements Chair: Andrew Spieker
2022 Joint Statistical Meeting
Laura Hatfield



Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS)
ENAR Representatives:
Simone Gray (President)
Leslie McClure (President-Elect)
Brent Coull (Past President)

Elizabeth Scott Award Committee: Mei-Cheng Wang, Johns Hopkins University

Fischer Award and Lecture Committee: Paul Rathouz, University of Wisconsin- Madison

ENAR Standing/Continuing Committees (End of Term in Parentheses)

Council of Emerging and New Statisticians (CENS)

RAB Liaison: Emily Butler, GlaxoSmithKline

CENS Steering Committee 2020-2021:
Alex Kaizer, University of Colorado (co-chair)
Jing Li, Eli Lilly and Company (co-chair)
Bryan Blette, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Hannah Weeks, Vanderbilt University

Current CENS Members:
Nicole Butera, George Washington University
Jeong Hoon Jang, Indiana University
Sarah Samorodnitsky, University of Minnesota
Karissa Whiting, Memorial Sloan Kettering
Julia Wrobel, University of Colorado
Emily Zabor, Cleveland Clinic

ENAR's Regional Advisory Board (RAB) formed the Council for Emerging and New Statisticians (CENS) in 2012 to help ENAR better address the needs of all students and recent graduates.


  • Bring student/recent graduate concerns to the attention of RAB and ENAR
  • Work to help ENAR better serve all students/recent graduates
  • Advise and help implement ideas to enhance the benefits of ENAR membership and to increase awareness of the benefits of ENAR membership to students
  • Organize a CENS session at each ENAR Spring Meeting
  • Assist in planning events that help advance students' and recent graduates' education and careers

Nominating Committee (2022)
Chair: Brent Coull
Michael Daniels (Past President, 2020)
Sean Simpson (2021-2022)
Samson Ghebremariam (2021-2022)
Ana Best (2022-2023)
Jason Roy (2022-2023)

Charge: The nominating committee is charged with preparing an annual slate of candidates to run for election for open ENAR offices. The committee should strive for a well qualified slate that is appropriately experienced, as well as diverse with respect to research interests, workplace, gender and ethnicity. The Committee should seek nominees suggestions from RAB as well as the membership at large.

Sponsorship Committee (2021 Spring Meeting)
Chair: Melissa Pomerene
Samson Ghebremariam
David Ohlssen
Elena Polverejan

Diversity Liaison
Christina Mehta, Emory University School of Medicine

ENAR Social Media Committee
Jessica Lavery, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Shaun Bender, Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Irena Chen, University of Michigan
Meilin Jiang, University of Florida

ENAR Webinar Committee
Samson Ghebremariam, Novartis (2021-2022)
Emily Slade, University of Kentucky (2022-2023)

ENAR Representative on the ASA Committee in Meetings: Mithat Gönen (2017-2019)

National Institute of Statistical Sciences (ENAR President is also an ex-officio member) Board of Trustees Member: Donna Brogan



Biometrics Editors: Executive Editor Co-Editors
  Marie Davidian Yi-Hau Chen
Michael J. Daniels
Jeanine Houwing-Duistermaat

Biometric Bulletin Editor: Ajit Sahai

JABES Editor: Brian Reich

International Biometric Society Executive Director: Peter Doherty

ENAR Representative to the COPSS FN David Award Committee: Laura Hatfield, Harvard University (October 2018 – September 2022)

ENAR Representative to the COPSS Fisher Lecture Committee: Debashis Ghosh, University of Colorado Denver (October 2018 – September 2021)

ENAR Representative to the COPSS Snedecor Award Committee: Paul Rathouz, University of Wisconsin-Madison (September 2016-October 2020)

ENAR Representative to the COPSS Awards Committee: Abdus S. Wahed, University of Pittsburgh (October 2019 – September 2022)

ENAR Representative to the COPSS Scott Award Committee: Rebecca Hubbard, University of Pennsylvania (October 2019 – September 2023)

ENAR Representative to the COPSS President's Award Committee: Susan Halabi (October 2017-September 2020)

ENAR Correspondent for Biometric Bulletin: Jarcy Zee (February 2019-February 2021)



Executive Director: Melissa Pomerene

Administrative/Membership Manager: Laura Stapleton

Program Specialist: Morgan Burkhardt

Event Specialist: Brittany Carey


Visit the ENAR website ( for the most up to date source of information on ENAR activities.